You are here

Where are they now?

We want to share with you the whereabouts and accomplishments of some ALRS graduates in this section.  

 

Rosalind Bark
Marie Curie Research Fellow and Visiting Researcher
University of Leeds, Leeds United Kingdom

R.H.Bark@leeds.ac.uk
Graduated:2006
Thesis: Muddy waters: Case studies in dry land water resource economics
Viviana Barquero
Full time Professor
Engineering and Sciences Division, Monterey Institute of Technology and Higher Education. Monterey, Mexico

viviana.barquero@itesm.mx
Graduated:2016
Thesis: Livelihood Assessment for Rural Delicias Chihuahua as Means for Developing a Community Energy Model

Stephen W. Bieda III, PhD, CIV, USAF
Science & Operations Officer (Meteorologist) ,
National Weather Service, Amarillo, TX Weather Forecasting Office

stephen.bieda@noaa.gov
Graduated:2012
Thesis: Flash Flood Causing Mechanisms of the North American Monsoon System in the Sonoran Desert

Grant Casady
Assistant Professor
Whitworth University, Spokane, WA
gcasady@whitworth.edu
Graduated:2008
Thesis: Examining Drivers of Post-Wildfire Vegetation Dynamics Across Multiple Scales Using Time-Series Remote Sensing

Nader Chalfoun
Professor of Architecture & Environmental Sciences
University of Arizona, Tucson, AZ
chalfoun@email.arizona.edu
Graduated:1989
Thesis: "Appropriate energy design guidelines for new desert housing in Egypt: "A case study for cluster houses at Sadat City".

Samuel Chambers
Research Assistant Professor
College of Architecture, Planning, and Landscape Architecture
University of Arizona, Tucson, AZ
schambers@email.arizona.edu

Graduated:2015
Thesis: "Corridors and Elk Migration: A Comparative Analysis of Landscape Connectivity Models and GPS Data in the Greater Yellowstone Ecosystem".

Nelson Cronyn
Consultant
Global Change Consulting LLC, Tucson, AZ
velo.afrique@gmail.com 
ncronyn@peacecorps.gov
Graduated:2012
Thesis: Global Change and Livelihood Adaptations among the Tuareg of Niger

Amy Eisenberg
Center for World Indigenous Studies Associate Scholar
dramyeis@yahoo.com
Graduated:2002
Thesis: Aymara Perspectives: Ethnoecological Studies in Andean Communities of Northern Chile
 
Barbara Eiswerth
Executive Director at Iskashitaa Refugee Network
eiswerth@iskashitaa.org
Graduated: 2003
Thesis: An evaluation of soil erosion hazard: A case study in Southern Africa using geomatics technologies

Abd Salam El Vilaly
Remote Sensing and GIS Specialist
Africa Rice Center
Consortium of International Agricultural Research Centers (CGIAR)
Cotonou, Benin, Africa
A.EL-Vilaly@cgiar.org
Graduated: 2013
Thesis: Drought Monitoring with Remote Sensing Based Land Surface Phenology: Applications and Validation

Suzanne Fish
Curator Emerita, Arizona State Museum
Professor Emerita, School of Anthropology
University of Arizona
sfish@email.arizona.edu
Graduated: 1993
Thesis: Agriculture and society in arid lands: A Hohokam case study

 

Wiebke Foerch
Advisor
Climate smart agriculture
Gesellschaft fuer Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ)
Nairobi, Kenya
wfoerch@web.de
Graduated: 2012
Thesis: Community Resilience in Drylands and Implications for Local Development in Tigray, Ethiopia

Joanne Gallaher
Associate Research Scientist
Soil, Water, and Environment Sciences, UA, Tucson, AZ
joanneg@email.arizona.edu
Graduated:2010
Thesis: Ecotourism as a Social-Ecological System: A Case Study in Guanacaste, Costa Rica

Joe L. Graham
Director, American Indian Resource Program
University of California-Irvine
jgraham1@uci.edu
Graduated:2012
Thesis: A Bountiful Harvest: Pueblo of Laguna College Graduates Assessment of Tribal Utilization of Subsidized Academic Capital

Rafael de Grenade
Post-Doctorate Research Associate
University of Arizona and Pima County, Tucson, AZ
rdegrenade@email.arizona.edu
Graduated:2012
Thesis: Conservation of Agro-biodiversity in Baja California Oases

Andy Hale
Country Director, DR Congo; Chief of Party, Norman Borlaug Institute for International Agriculture
Kisangani, Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC), Africa
adhale@gmail.com
Graduated:2011
Thesis: Climate Change and Agricultural Policy Effects on Water Use in Agricultural Production: A Positive Mathematical Programming Approach

Jeffrey Muir Hamilton
Horticultural Consultant
Gray House Farms, LLC, Selah, Washington
jeffreymuirhamilton@me.com
Graduated:2009
Thesis: Arugula Crop Production in Arid and Semi-Arid Regions: Nutritional Value, Postharvest Quality, and Sustainability in Controlled Environment
Linkedin: Jeffrey Muir Hamilton
Twitter:  https://twitter.com/grayhousefarm

Stefanie Herrmann
Associate Research Scientist, Agricultural -Biosystems Engineering
University of Arizona, Tucson, AZ
stefanie@ag.arizona.edu
Graduated:2006
Thesis: Human-Environment Relationships in Drylands - with a Focus on the West African Sahel

Daniel Higgins
Consultant
Resilience Outreach/Southwest, Inc.  AZ
daniel.b.higgins@asu.edu
Graduated:2010
Thesis: The Black Mesa case study: A postaudit and pathology of coal-energy groundwater exploitation in the Hope and Dine Lands

Aaron Lien
Senior Researcher
Udall Center, University of Arizona
alien@email.arizona.edu
Graduated:2017
Thesis: Incentives for Ecosystem Services on Rangelands: Institutional Design and Stakeholder Attitudes
America Lutz Ley
Research Analyst
Udall Center, University of Arizona
americalutz@email.arizona.edu
Graduated:2016
Thesis: Human Adaptation to Social and Environmental Changes in Rural Communities of the San Miguel Watershed in Arid Northwest Mexico

Fernando Daniel de Oliveira Mayorga
Professor
Universidad Federal do Ceara
Campus de Sobral
Curso de Ciências Econômicas e Finanças
fmayorga@ufc.br
fmayorgaufc@gmail.com
Graduated: 2015
Thesis: Growth, Equity, and Sustainability: A Case study of the Impacts of Green Revolution Change in Ceara, Northeast, Brazil

Amy McCoy
Manager, Arizona Programs
AMP Insights
Tucson, AZ
amy@ampinsights.com
Graduated:2009
Thesis: Riparian Dynamics: The Ebb and Flow of Ecological Function

Lezlie Moriniere
Analyst: Building Capacity for Optimized Public Investment in CCA & DDR
United Nations Office for Disaster Risk Reduction
lezliemoriniere@yahoo.com
Graduated:2010
Thesis: A Well-Founded Fear? Tracing the Footprints of Environmentally Influenced Human Mobility

 

Kelly Mott-Lacroix
Hydrologist/Presidential Management Fellow
U.S. Forest Service in the Watershed, Fish, Wildlife, Air, and Rare Plants division of the Washington, D.C. office
klacroix@email.arizona.edu
Graduated:2015
Thesis: Advancing Water Management Through Methods to Assess Environmental Flow Needs and Improve Stakeholder Engagement

Gary Nabhan
Research Social Scientist, Southwest Studies Center
University of Arizona, Tucson, AZ
gpnabhan@email.arizona.edu
Graduated:1983
Thesis: Papago fields: arid lands ethnobotany and agricultural ecology

Luis Alan Navarro Navarro
Associate Research Professor
El Colegio de Sonora
http://mx.linkedin.com/in/alannavarro
Graduated:2012
Thesis: Social embeddedness of traditional irrigation systems in the Sonoran Desert: a Social Network Approach

Luis Nunez Noriega
Delegate of the Ministry of Economy (representing the Mexican Ministry of Economy, Mr. Ildefonso Guajardo)
luisn@ciad.mx
Graduated:2004
Thesis: Production and commercialization of bacanora: An economic opportunity for Sonora, Mexico? 

Anahi Ocampo-Melgar
Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Centro de Desarrollo Urbano Sustentable
Santiago de Chile, Chile
anahiom@email.arizona.edu
Graduated: 2014
Thesis: Participatory multi-criteria assessment for monitoring actions and support decision making to combat desrtification in the San Simon Watershed (Arizona) 

Aaryn Olsson
Software Engineer
Boundless Spatial, Inc.
Tucson, AZ
aaryno@gmail.com
Graduated:2010
Thesis: Ecosystem Transformation by Buffelgrass: Climatology of Invasion, Effects on Arizona Upland Diversity, and Remote Sensing Tools for Managers

Barron J. Orr
Visiting Professor of Ecology & Marie Sklodowskka Curie Fellow
Department of Ecology, University of Alicante, Spain
barron.orr@gmail.com
Graduated:2000
Thesis: More Users and More Uses: Choosing Between Land and Forest in Malawi's Protected Areas

Rafael Payan
General Manager, Monterey Peninsula Regional Parks District
Monterey, CA
payan@mprpd.org
Graduated:2012
Thesis: How Do We Keep Conservation Alive When Kids Have Less and Less Contact with Nature?

Lisa A. Philander
Curator, College of Biological Sciences Conservatory
University of Minnesota, MN
phil0120@umn.edu
Graduated:2010
Thesis: An Emergent Ethnomedicine: Rastafari Bush Doctors in the Western Cape, South Africa

Susan Qashu
AAAS Executive Branch Fellow
American Association for the Advancement of Science

Washington, DC
sqashu@email.arizona.edu
Graduated:2010
Thesis: A marine reserve and household nexus: Chilean livelihood adaptations at four sites in the coquimbo and atacama regions

John Regan
Manager, Geographic Information Services Offices
Public Works Administration, Tucson, AZ
regan.john91@gmail.com
Graduated:2011
Thesis: Land Use Predictors Affecting Land Disturbance in Exurban Arivaca, Arizona
Kanin Routson
Freelance Research Biologist
Edge Mountain Research, Prescott, AZ
kaninroutson@gmail.com
Graduated:2012
Thesis: Malus Diversity in Wild and Agricultural Ecosystems

Petra Tschakert
Professor
School of Earth and Environment
School of Agricultural and Resource Economics
The University of Western Australia
35 Stirling Highway, Crawley
Perth, WA 6009
Email: petra.tschakert@uwa.edu.au

Graduated:2003
Thesis: Soil carbon sequestration in small-scale farming systems: A case study from the Old Peanut Basin in Senegal

William Jackson Ward
Tech. Rep., APT Research Huntsville, AL
wjward@dfehs.com
Graduated:2008
Thesis: 1,4-Dioxane Remediation Using a Constructed Wetland

Jelena Vukomanovic
Assistant Professor of Human Dimensions of Natural Resources and Geospatial Analytics, North Carolina State University
jelena@gmail.com
Graduated:2013
Thesis: Exurbia as Physical and Social Space: Landscape Drivers and Ecological Impacts of Amenity Migration in the New West

 

Adriana Zuniga Teran
Senior Researcher,  the Udall Centerr, University of Arizona, Tucson, AZ
aazuniga@email.arizona.edu
Graduated:2015
Thesis: From Neighborhoods to Wellbeing and Conservation: Enhancing the Use of Greenspace through Walkability


 

Last updated 12 Jul 2017