You are here

Where are they now draft #2

We want to share with you the whereabouts and accomplishments of some ALRS graduates in this section.  

Stephen W. Bieda III, PhD, CIV, USAF
Lead Meteorological Trainer & Science Officer
azmonsoon1982@gmail.com
Graduated:2012
Thesis: Flash Flood Causing Mechanisms of the North American Monsoon System in the Sonoran Desert

Grant Casady
Assistant Professor
Whitworth University, Spokane, WA
gcasady@whitworth.edu
Graduated:2008
Thesis: Examining Drivers of Post-Wildfire Vegetation Dynamics Across Multiple Scales Using Time-Series Remote Sensing

Nader Chalfoun
Professor of Architecture & Environmental Sciences
University of Arizona, Tucson, AZ
chalfoun@email.arizona.edu
Graduated:1989
Thesis: Appropriate energy design guidelines for new desert housing in Egypt: "A case study for cluster houses at Sadat City".

Nelson Cronyn
Director of Agriculture
Millenium Challenge Corporation, Washington D.C.
Graduated:2012
Thesis: Global Change and Livelihood Adaptations among the Tuareg of Niger

Joanne Gallaher
Adjunct Assistant Research Scientist
Office of Arid Lands Studies, Tucson, AZ
joanneg@email.arizona.edu
Graduated:2010
Thesis: Ecotourism as a Social-Ecological System: A Case Study in Guanacaste, Costa Rica

Joe L. Graham
Director, Indian Resource Development Program
New Mexico State University, Las Cruces, NM
graham@nmsu.edu
Graduated:2012
Thesis: A Bountiful Harvest: Pueblo of Laguna College Graduates Assessment of Tribal Utilization of Subsidized Academic Capital

Rafael de Grenade
Post-Doctorate Research Associate
University of Arizona and Pima County, Tucson, AZ
rdegrenade@email.arizona.edu
Graduated:2012
Thesis: Conservation of Agro-biodiversity in Baja California Oases

Andy Hale
Country Director, DR Congo; Chief of Party, Norman Borlaug Institute for International Agriculture
Texas A&M University, College Station, TX
adhale@gmail.com
Graduated:2011
Thesis: Climate Change and Agricultural Policy Effects on Water Use in Agricultural Production: A Positive Mathematical Programming Approach

Stefanie Herrmann
Assistant Research Scientist
University of Arizona, Tucson, AZ
stefanie@ag.arizona.edu
Graduated:2006
Thesis: Human-Environment Relationships in Drylands - with a Focus on the West African Sahel

Gary Nabhan
Research Social Scientist, Southwest Studies Center
University of Arizona, Tucson, AZ
gpnabhan@email.arizona.edu
Graduated:1983
Thesis: Papago fields: arid lands ethnobotany and agricultural ecology

Luis Alan Navarro Navarro
Freelance Consultant, Mohui.com
Investigator, INIFAP
http://mx.linkedin.com/in/alannavarro
Graduated:2012
Thesis: Social embeddedness of traditional irrigation systems in the Sonoran Desert: a Social Network Approach

Aaryn Olsson
Research Associate
Northern Arizona University, Flagstaff, AZ
aaryno@gmail.com
Graduated:2010
Thesis: Ecosystem Transformation by Buffelgrass: Climatology of Invasion, Effects on Arizona Upland Diversity, and Remote Sensing Tools for Managers

Barron J. Orr
Associate Professor & Geospatial Extension Specialist
University of Arizona, Tucson, AZ
barron.orr@gmail.com
Graduated:2000
Thesis: More Users and More Uses: Choosing Between Land and Forest in Malawi's Protected Areas

Rafael Payan
Executive Director, Parks and Recreation Department
Pima County Natural Resources, Tucson, AZ
rafael.payan@pima.gov
Graduated:2012
Thesis: How Do We Keep Conservation Alive When Kids Have Less and Less Contact with Nature?

Lisa A. Philander
Post Doctoral Research Associate
University of Wyoming, Laramie, WY
lisaphilander@gmail.com
Graduated:2010
Thesis: An Emergent Ethnomedicine: Rastafari Bush Doctors in the Western Cape, South Africa

John Regan
Manager, Geographic Information Services Offices
Public Works Administration, Tucson, AZ
john.regan@dot.pima.gov
Graduated:2011
Thesis: Land Use Predictors Affecting Land Disturbance in Exurban Arivaca, Arizona
Kanin Routson
Freelance Research Biologist
Edge Mountain Research, Prescott, AZ
kaninroutson@gmail.com
Graduated:2012
Thesis: Malus Diversity in Wild and Agricultural Ecosystems
Petra Tschakert
Associate Professor of EESI
Penn State University, University Park, PA
petra@psu.edu
Graduated:2003
Thesis: Soil carbon sequestration in small-scale farming systems: A case study from the Old Peanut Basin in Senegal

 

Last updated 27 Oct 2015